When you begin your business in Riverside, California, you have to file a Statement of Information with the California Secretary of State (SOS). This document tells the SOS about your business. In this article, we’ll walk you through what exactly the Statement of Information in Riverside, CA, is and how it works. We’ll also discuss how to file your document, when it needs to be filed, and how much it costs.
Riverside Statement of Information: What it is and why you need it.
A Statement of Information is a document that must be filed with the Secretary of State’s office by certain businesses and organizations. If you are required to file, it’s important that you do so on time and accurately because failing to do so could result in fines or other penalties.
The Difference Between a Statement of Information and Other Business Documents.
A Statement of Information is a document that provides information on the business operations and structure of a company. It’s also called a Form SI, or Statement of Information.
It’s not a financial statement–that would be something like an income statement, balance sheet or cash flow statement.
Who Needs a Statement of Information?
You need to file a Statement of Information if you are:
- A sole proprietorship.
- A corporation, limited liability company, or trust.
- A non-profit corporation, limited liability company, or trust.
When to File the Riverside Statement of Information.
The first time you file a Statement of Information is the year that your business started, so if you set up shop in 2019, it will be due in 2020. The filing deadline for businesses that have already been operating for more than a year is March 1st of each year; however, several extensions are available for those who need them.
In addition to annual filings, there are two additional deadlines: quarterly and initial statements (for new businesses). Quarterly statements must be filed by October 15th, every three months after they start up. Initial statements must be filed within 30 days of opening their doors or registering their name with the Secretary of State’s office.
How to File the Riverside Statement of Information
The Riverside Statement of Information is filed with the Secretary of State and/or the county clerk, depending on where your business is located. If you are filing online, there will be instructions on how to pay your filing fee. You can also file by mail if you want to include payment with your application.
If you are mailing in your application, it must be postmarked no later than midnight on the last day allowed for filing (the due date). It’s important to note that even though USPS doesn’t guarantee next-day delivery, most envelopes take only two days at most to reach their destination after being mailed–so plan accordingly.
California Statement of Information Filing Fees.
The filing fee for the Statement of Information is $25 and is non-refundable. You must pay the fee when you file your statement with the Secretary of State’s office, so it’s important to ensure you have enough cash on hand when doing so.
The fee is also not required for exempt corporations (such as churches or charities), but these organizations still need to file their statements every year if they wish to maintain their tax-exempt status.
Penalties for Not Filing or Late Filing in Riverside, CA.
Not filing or filing late are both serious offenses in Riverside, CA. If you do not file your statement of information on time, the Secretary of State may impose fines and jail time. In addition to these penalties, they may also revoke your business license if they discover that you have committed multiple violations over an extended period of time.
The Riverside Statement of Information is an important document that you need to file with the California Secretary of State. It’s also called a “corporate filing,” so if your business has been in operation for at least one year and has paid taxes, then you should be able to find this form online or at your local county clerk’s office. If you’re unsure whether or not your company needs this form, talk with an accountant who can help determine if it applies!